Home Schools Sports TAMU-Commerce men's golf team earns All-Lone Star awards

TAMU-Commerce men’s golf team earns All-Lone Star awards


The Texas A&M University-Commerce men’s golf team earned three first-team All-Lone Star Conference awards and the program’s first-ever Player of the Year award at the annual LSC awards banquet on Sunday night.

Lucas McCubbin was named the LSC Golfer of the Year and First Team All-Conference, while Blake Hartford and Wilfredo Sanchez were also named First Team All-LSC.

McCubbin had a 72.25 stroke average in his first season as a Lion and finished under par in four of his nine tournaments. He had a pair of top-five finishes with runner-up honors at the St. Mary’s Rattler Invitational and the Hardscrabble Invitational, as well as six total top 10 finishes. He was named the LSC Golfer of the Week once during the season. He is the first-ever Lion to win the LSC Golfer of the Year honor.

Hartford was a two-time LSC Golfer of the Week winner, with three top-five finishes and four top 10’s. He had a stroke average of 72.5 in his first season as a Lion and earns his second all-conference honor in his collegiate career.


Sanchez earns his second career all-LSC honor, as he was second team all-conference and the LSC Newcomer of the Year in 2017. He was a two-time LSC Golfer of the Week in his senior season and was the champion of The Classic at Firewheel. With a season stroke average of 72.13, he had three top-five finishes and five top 10’s.

The Lion trio will lead A&M-Commerce as the top seed in the LSC Championship on Monday and Tuesday. The women’s teams will play 18 holes each day, while the men’s teams will play 36 holes Monday and 18 holes Tuesday.

2018 Men’s Golf All-Conference

Player Team Year Hometown
Lucas McCubbin A&M-Commerce JR Midland, Texas
Wilfredo Sanchez A&M-Commerce SR The Woodlands, Texas
Blake Hartford A&M-Commerce SO Spring, Texas
Trip Hobson Midwestern State SR Crockett, Texas
Will Lovelace Cameron SO Richardson, Texas
Michael Hodson West Texas A&M SO Amarillo, Texas
Clayton Keck Midwestern State SR Tulsa, Oklahoma
Sam Ruston Western New Mexico FR Birmingham, England
Brayden Cruth West Texas A&M JR Amarillo, Texas
Dario Gabriel Cameron JR Felsberg, Switzerland
Gonzalo Pan De Soraluce Western New Mexico SO Madrid, Spain
Pedro De La Vega Western New Mexico SO Mexico City, Mexico
Tate McVay West Texas A&M SR Sturgis, South Dakota

Player of the YearLucas McCubbin, A&M-Commerce
Newcomer of the Year: Clayton Keck, Midwestern State
Freshman of the Year: Sam Ruston, Western New Mexico
Coach of the Year: Kent Beatty, Western New Mexico

2018 Women’s Golf All-Conference

Player Team Year Hometown
Sarah Gee Tarleton State SR Warminster, England
Emily Brennan Midwestern State FR Stoke-on-Trent England
Loukyee Songprasert West Texas A&M SO Chiang Mai, Thailand
Jelina Fernando West Texas A&M SO Haywards Heath, England
Casey Wild Tarleton State SR Wodonga, Australia
Casey Leatherman Tarleton State SO Huntsville, Texas
Lexi Read Midwestern State SO Paradise, Texas
Kaylin Milholland West Texas A&M JR Sachse, Texas
Mattye Mason West Texas A&M SR San Marcos, Texas
Junie Khaw Tarleton State FR Selangor, Malaysia
Sarah Moore Midwestern State SR Burkburnett, Texas
Juanita Gomez Midwestern State FR Medellin Colombia
Brenda Dominguez Western New Mexico SO El Paso, Texas
Allison Duffin Cameron SO San Antonio, Texas

Player of the Year: Sarah Gee, Tarleton State
Freshman of the Year: Emily Brennan, Midwestern State
Coach of the Year: Meredith Jameson, West Texas A&M