Apple recently released a feature on the newest update that allows users to group chat over facetime. 

While the new feature was long awaited, the bug that comes along with it is every users worst nightmare. Apple users discovered quickly that you can now spy on the person you are calling through groupchat by simply calling them and then calling your own number as well. 

According to the Associated Press, Apple has made the group chat function unavailable after people discovered they could activate another user’s microphone remotely. While the chat may have been disabled, many sources are urging users to simply disable FaceTime altogether until the bug is fixed.

 

As seen on Apple’s System Status page on their website.


“We’re aware of this issue and we have identified a fix that will be released in a software update later this week,” Apple said in a statement Tuesday.

 
Disabling FaceTime is pretty simple, just follow these instructions:
  1. Open Settings on your device
  2. Scroll down and select FaceTime
  3. Toggle off the green button at the top of the screen

To turn it off on a Mac:

  1. Open FaceTime
  2. Go to FaceTime on the top of the screen
  3. Select “Turn FaceTime Off”